About Nischo

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Nischo has created 28 blog entries.

Double Release: Old Mountain “Parallels” (NIS0012) and “This Is Not Our Music” (NIS0013)

We are thrilled to be announcing not one, but two records by the fantastic Old Mountain, a project led by musicians and composers Pedro Branco (guitar) and João Sousa (drums).

Check out how the duo has managed to create two stunningly mind-blowing albums in one year, each with very distinct sound characteristics and different guest musicians.

“Parallels” (NIS0012), recorded with Gonçalo Marques (trumpet).
More info: Old Mountain – Parallels

“This Is Not Our Music” (NIS0013), recorded with Nicolò Ricci (tenor sax), Mauro Cottone (doublebass) and George Dumitriu (viola).
More info: Old Mountain – This Is Not Our Music


2020-02-25T15:24:54+00:00 February 19th, 2020|Categories: News|Tags: , , , , , , , |

New release: André Fernandes’ Centauri – Dianho (NIS0010)

André Fernandes’ project Centauri will present their latest album Dianho tonight at Hot Club de Portugal in Portugal.
First set at 22h, second set at midnight! Join us at Praça da Alegria 48, 1250-004 Lisboa

More info on the album here: André Fernandes’ Centauri – Dianho (NIS0010)

2020-02-15T20:00:50+00:00 February 15th, 2020|Categories: Live, News, Releases|Tags: , , , , |

Isabel Rato – Histórias do Céu e da Terra (NIS0008)

Pianista, compositora, arranjadora e produtora na área do Jazz Português.

A pianista lança em Maio de 2019 o seu segundo disco “Histórias do Céu e da Terra”, editado pela Nischo Records.
O conjunto de canções que estão presentes neste seu novo trabalho têm o seu foco principal na Língua Portuguesa e no Jazz.

Isabel Rato tornou-se num dos nomes femininos mais destacados da nova geração de compositores portugueses na área do Jazz.

2020-02-02T23:14:58+00:00 May 1st, 2019|Categories: News, Releases|Tags: , , |

New release: Carlos Martins – Sempre [Vinyl Edition] (NIS0007)

Originally recorded in 1999 to celebrate the Carnation Revolution that happened on the 25th of April 1974 in Portugal, the album SEMPRE is now being re-released as a special vinyl edition for the occasion of the 45th anniversary of the revolution and the 20th anniversary of the album.

Carlos Martins – Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone and Arrangements
Bernardo Sassetti – Piano and Arrangements
João Paulo Esteves da Silva – Piano
Mário Delgado – Guitar
Carlos Barretto – Double Bass
Alexandre Frazão – Drums
Miguel Gonçalves – Trumpet
João Ferreira – Percussion

Recorded in March 1999
Reedition April 2019 (vinyl edition)
(Nischo Records, under license Edições Valentim de Carvalho, S.A.)

Mastered 2019 by Rui Dias, Estúdio Mistermaster
Photos 1999 by Luisa Ferreira/ Photos 2019 by Vitorino Coragem
Graphic Design by Sónia Teixeira Pinto

2019-05-07T17:31:07+00:00 April 10th, 2019|Categories: Uncategorized|

Announcement: The Rite Of Trio @ JAZZAHEAD

The latest addition to NISCHO’s artist roster THE RITE OF TRIO, will perform at Jazzahead in Bremen, Germany, as part of the European Jazz Meeting and they announce it via their Instagram:

This year, in Bremen, we’ll be playing on this huge showcase for international artists where giants such as Leo Genovese, Gilad Hekselman, Julian Lage, Kevin Hays, Shai Maestro, Kaja Draksler or Avishai Cohen have performed.

As you can read on the official page “it is THE most important meeting place for the international jazz scene”. And we’re proud to be there alongside Lisbon Underground Music Ensemble to represent Portugal. ▲

2019-05-07T17:22:39+00:00 April 7th, 2019|Categories: Uncategorized|

New release: Eduardo Cardinho – In Search Of Light (NIS0006)

New release: Eduardo Cardinho – In Search Of Light (NIS0006)

Eduardo Cardinho – Vibraphone and Compositions
Ben Van Gelder – Saxophone
João Barradas – Midi Accordeon
André Rosinha – Double Bass
Bruno Pedroso – Drums

Ana Ribeiro – Violin
Miguel Simões – Violin
Joana Nunes – Viola
Fernando Costa – Cello
Igor Silva – Live Electronics

Released on Nischo
Apoio Fundação GDA

CD available at Fnac Portugal and by mailorder (hello@nischo.com)!

2019-05-07T17:13:42+00:00 February 7th, 2019|Categories: News, Releases|Tags: , |

New release: André Fernandes’ Centauri “Draco” (NIS0005)

New release: André Fernandes’ Centauri “Draco” (NIS0005)

André Fernandes – Guitar
João Mortágua – Alto and Soprano Saxophone
José Pedro Coelho – Tenor and Soprano Saxophone
Francisco Brito – Doublebass
João Pereira – Drums

Artwork by Travassos
Recorded July 23, 24 2017 by Luis Candeias at Timbuktu Studios, Lisbon.
Mixed by Pete Rende
Mastered by André Fernandes
All compositions by André Fernandes except Finger, by Ty Segall

CD available at Fnac Portugal and by mailorder (hello@nischo.com)!
iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/de/album/draco/1361068390
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/album/1AcP08uJD9Vq7ydBvB5mqp

Nischo 2018

2018-04-05T13:24:57+00:00 April 5th, 2018|Categories: News, Releases|Tags: , , , |

Best Albums of 2017 – Público

So proud! Our two very first releases made it to the selection Best Albums of 2017, by Nuno Catarino (Público)!

Congratulations to Pedro Melo Alves to be in the Top Ten with “Omniae Ensemble” and to João Barradas to have made it to the Top 3 with his debut “Directions”!

We wouldn’t be anything without our artists, so thank you all for the inspiration and for this wonderful first year!
We are looking forward to an incredible 2018!

2017-12-22T18:16:33+00:00 December 22nd, 2017|Categories: News|Tags: , , , |

Out now! Mário Franco – Rush (NIS0004)

Out now!
Mário Franco – Rush

Special Edition (CD+11 photographs) available at Fnac Portugal and by mailorder (hello@nischo.com)!

iTunes: http://apple.co/2j2Uz3o
Amazon: http://amzn.to/2CidoqQ
Apple Music: http://apple.co/2j2Uz3o
Spotify: http://spoti.fi/2AO1n0a

Mário Franco – double bass, electric bass, samples
Sérgio Pelágio – electric guitar
Óscar Graça – piano, electronics
Luís Figueiredo – rhodes, hammond organ, philicorda, other keyboards
Alexandre Frazão – drums, percussion

Recorded at Vale de Lobos Estúdio, Portugal
Released on Nischo

Cover-Photo: Guta De Carvalho Photography
Artwork: Carlos Bártolo

2019-05-20T18:34:37+00:00 December 15th, 2017|Categories: News, Releases|Tags: , |

Upcoming release: Mário Franco – “Rush”

We are proud to announce our upcoming release “Rush” by bass player and composer Mário Franco with a fantastic lineup!
Released as a special edition with a unique selection of 11 photographies, handpicked by the artist himself – 1 for every song.
More info coming soon!

2017-12-07T13:13:50+00:00 December 7th, 2017|Categories: Uncategorized|